One of the demands that COVID-19 has placed on businesses is the need to be flexible in the number of staff under their employ at a certain period in time. We at SimplePay appreciate this and so the blog today is aimed at informing you on what you need to do to accommodate your situation through the system to ensure accurate submissions, enable employees to claim benefits and prevent unnecessary billing.
Employees Leaving your Company
Ending Employees’ Service
If for any reason, one or more of your employees are no longer able to work for your business and none of the measures laid out in the Resilience, Solidarity or Fortitude budgets are viable (Some of which are mentioned in this blog), it is important to end their service on SimplePay for the following reasons:
- Ending employees’ service correctly provides them access to alternative support measures, such as the COVID-19 Support Grant.
- SimplePay’s pricing model is based on the number of active employees on the system at the start of your monthly billing cycle. Therefore, if the employee has not had their service ended on the system when your invoice is generated, you will be charged for the employee even if no payslips have been processed for that employee.
Information on ending an employee’s service is detailed in this help article, including the end service checklist and managing an employee’s end of service. You can also read more about our end service checklist in our blog from 25 June.
If you have several employees whose service you have to end, you can do this in bulk as detailed on this help page.
Actions to Take Upon Ending an Employee’s Service
The date which an ex-employee ceases to work for you needs to be recorded on SimplePay so to inform the relevant authorities. We recommend that you end the service of the employee, before finalising payslips and completing your monthly CPF return. This will mean it is reflected on the CPF Return. Some classes of employees may also require an IR21 form for tax clearance purposes, more information on this can be found on our help page.
If whilst still under your employ, an ex-employee was sent invoice emails from SimplePay, the billing email list needs to be amended. To do this, click on the Profile Icon > Billing > Update Billing Preferences and remove the relevant billing email(s). The same is true for any granted admin roles on SimplePay, where these access rights should be deactivated for ex-employees.
Shutdown of Business
If lockdown or other reasons mean you need to close your business on a temporary or permanent basis, your intention on whether to reopen your business or not determines the appropriate actions to take.
Closing for a Period of Time
If it becomes necessary to close your business, but you intend to reopen, you should end the service for all employees.
As you are charged per active employee, ending the service for your workforce means that you will not be billed until they become active again.
Permanent Business Closure
In the unfortunate event that you need to close your business permanently, the following steps need to be followed:
- End Service for Employees and Submit your CPF Return – as described under “Employees Leaving Your Company” (above), the employees’ service should be ended so this is reflected automatically on their CPF Return to inform IRAS.
- Deactivate Admin Users on your Account – if you have provided administrative privileges to your company to any ex-employees, we would recommend that these are deactivated upon ending their service. To do this, click on the profile icon in the top right corner > Manage Users > Delete. Should you wish for an ex-employee to retain access, you can leave their access rights unamended.
- (Optional) Remove the Company From SimplePay – If you wish you can delete your company from SimplePay. We strongly recommend against this as it will mean you no longer have access to information assimilated on SimplePay, which might come in useful e.g. should you have any documents requested by IRAS. If you wish to delete your company, details of how to can be found here.
Closing Your Account on SimplePay
It may be the case that you have come to the decision to close your account on SimplePay. If you are sure that this is the right decision for you and there is nothing we can do to change your mind you will need to do the following:
- Get in touch with SimplePay at [email protected] and request they close your account. It would be greatly appreciated if in this email you include:
- The reason(s) for ending your SimplePay membership
- Method of payment used (direct debit / EFT etc.)
N.B. SimplePay provides you with the option of freezing your account, meaning you can still access SimplePay for three months. This provides you with ample opportunity to ensure that there is not any information that you need which is still on SimplePay. If though, you are certain that you have all the information you need, you can also opt to close your account with immediate effect.
- If there are any outstanding sums, these must be paid. If you are not in a position to do so, please advise us of this so that our billing team can engage with you to determine the best course of action.
We appreciate that this must be an extremely stressful and turbulent situation for you, with many hard decisions to make. If this is the end of your use of SimplePay, thank you for the support. We wish you well and hope that we will get the opportunity to work symbiotically with you again in the not-so-distant future. Should you have any questions on the above, please do not hesitate to contact us at [email protected].
Keep well and stay safe.