You asked us for a way to help you remember to capture the necessary payslip items associated with employee terminations, and we’ve been listening. Introducing our newest feature: the End Service Checklist.
When ending an employee’s service on the system, there will now be a pop up if the employee:
has a positive leave balance that you need to pay out
has a savings balance that you need to pay out
has a loan balance that still needs to be paid
has a foreigner legal status and form IR21 may need to be submitted
If you are capturing the termination and the employee only has the last payslip as a draft (i.e. prior payslips have been finalised), you can click on each item in the checklist to open the system item where action is needed.
More information on these topics can be found in the following help articles:
At SimplePay, we believe in continuous improvement and are therefore committed to refining and enhancing the system to better suit your needs. With that in mind, we have made tweaks to our leave functionality to improve the deleting of leave requests. We’d like to highlight some of these changes:
In addition to payroll administrators and leave admins, previously approved leave requests can now also be deleted by any leave approver that is part of the employee’s approval group.
Where the payslip for the period when the leave dates occurred is unfinalised, the leave request will immediately be deleted in its entirety when clicking on Delete.
Leave requests with leave dates that fall during a pay period with finalised payslips will result in the opening of a new screen when clicking on Delete. From this screen, you can
see which of the leave days cannot be deleted as they impact the pay on a finalised payslip, and which of them can be deleted;
directly open the payslip where the nett pay is impacted by the leave, if you have administrator rights in addition to being a leave approver;
opt to delete leave in its entirety (the default) or superficially*.
*The Retain these leave dates? checkbox is used to indicate whether leave should be deleted in its entirety or superficially. If you leave the option unchecked, the leave request will be deleted in its entirety (the leave request will be deleted, the leave days will be removed from the calendar and the leave days will be added back to the employee’s leave balance). If you select the checkbox, the leave request will be deleted superficially (only the actual request will be deleted, but the leave will remain recorded in the leave calendar and the leave balance will still take into account the leave days recorded).
You can read more about deleting leave on our help page here.
We hope these improvements provide more useful information and a more enjoyable user experience.
If you require any assistance, please reach out to our Support team here.
When capturing payroll from an employee’s profile, our approach has always been to display only the payslip items that impact nett pay directly. This makes it easier to view exactly what impact (if any) the payslip item has on the salary or wage that the employee actually receives.
To view other payslip items, like statutory employer contributions or fringe benefits, you can click on the Preview link to view the employee’s payslip. We are now delighted to introduce a new feature that allows you view these other payslip items without opening the payslip. Clicking on More next to the Preview link will display all the payslip items from the payslip on the screen.
On the left hand side of the screen, you will see all the items that appear in the payslip section that are used to calculate nett pay. On the right hand side, you will see the other payslip items that do not impact nett pay directly (i.e. they are not directly added or subtracted to get the nett pay – however, they could impact the calculation of another payslip item that impacts nett pay).
We hope this new feature for viewing payslips faster makes payroll even simpler.